Open Agenda

Southwar southwark.gov.uk

Overview & Scrutiny Committee

Monday 22 January 2024 10.30 am Ground Floor Meeting Room G02A - 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Membership

Councillor Ian Wingfield (Chair) Councillor Irina Von Wiese (Vice-Chair) Councillor Suzanne Abachor Councillor Victor Chamberlain Councillor Sam Foster Councillor Jon Hartley Councillor Laura Johnson Councillor Laura Johnson Councillor Sunny Lambe Councillor Margy Newens Councillor Margy Newens Councillor Bethan Roberts Councillor Bethan Roberts Councillor Chloe Tomlinson Martin Brecknell (Co-opted Member) Lynette Murphy-O'Dwyer (Co-opted Member) Jonathan Clay (Co-opted Member) Marcin Jagodzinski (Co-opted Member)

Reserves

Councillor John Batteson Councillor Rachel Bentley Councillor Sunil Chopra Councillor Sam Dalton Councillor Esme Hicks Councillor Sarah King Councillor Sandra Rhule Councillor Jane Salmon Councillor Andy Simmons Councillor Cleo Soanes

INFORMATION FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

Access to information

You have the right to request to inspect copies of minutes and reports on this agenda as well as the background documents used in the preparation of these reports.

Babysitting/Carers allowances

If you are a resident of the borough and have paid someone to look after your children, an elderly dependant or a dependant with disabilities so that you could attend this meeting, you may claim an allowance from the council. Please collect a claim form at the meeting.



Access

The council is committed to making its meetings accessible. Further details on building access, translation, provision of signers etc for this meeting are on the council's web site: <u>www.southwark.gov.uk</u> or please contact the person below.

Contact

Everton Roberts on 020 7525 7221 or email: everton.roberts@southwark.gov.uk

Members of the committee are summoned to attend this meeting **Althea Loderick** Chief Executive Date: 12 January 2024



Southwar southwark.gov.uk

Overview & Scrutiny Committee

Monday 22 January 2024 10.30 am Ground Floor Meeting Room G02A - 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Order of Business

Item No.

Title

Page No.

PART A - OPEN BUSINESS

1. APOLOGIES

To receive any apologies for absence.

2. NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE CHAIR DEEMS URGENT

In special circumstances, an item of business may be added to an agenda within five clear working days of the meeting.

3. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

Members to declare any interests and dispensations in respect of any item of business to be considered at this meeting.

4. CABINET CONSULTATION WITH OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE ON THE PROPOSED BUDGET 2024-25

1

To receive information and to ask questions of cabinet members in respect of the budget implications of the proposed Policy and Resources Strategy 2024-25.

Item No.

5. POLICY AND RESOURCES STRATEGY 2024-25

To follow

The overview and scrutiny committee received the 5 December 2023 cabinet report on the Policy and Resources Budget Setting 2024-25 at its meetings on the 11 December 2023, and 10 January 2024. Updated information relating to the proposed 2024-25 budget, along with an equality impact analysis, and climate impact information will be circulated ahead of the overview and scrutiny committee meeting.

DISCUSSION OF ANY OTHER OPEN ITEMS AS NOTIFIED AT THE START OF THE MEETING.

Date: 12 January 2024

Budget Scrutiny - Cabinet Member interviews timetable

Monday 22 January 2024 (10.30 a.m. - 5.00 p.m.)

Timetable	Members/officers			
10.30 a.m. (10)	Welcome and meeting preliminaries			
10.40 a.m. (30)	Budget overview			
	Cllr Kieron Williams – Leader of the Council Cllr Stephanie Cryan – Communities, Democracy and Finance			
11.10 a.m. (40)	Cllr Evelyn Akoto – Health and Wellbeing			
11.50 a.m. (40)	Cllr James McAsh – Climate Emergency, Clean Air and Streets			
12.30 p.m. (20)	Cllr Martin Seaton – Jobs, Skills and Business			
12.50 p.m. (50)	LUNCH			
1.40 p.m. (40)	Cllr Jasmine Ali – Children, Education and Refugees			
2.20 p.m. (40)	Cllr Catherine Rose – Neighbourhoods, Leisure and Parks			
3.00 p.m. (10)	BREAK			
3.10 p.m. (20)	Cllr Natasha Ennin – Community Safety			
3.30 p.m. (40)	Cllr Stephanie Cryan – Communities, Democracy and Finance			
4.10 p.m. (30)	Cllr Darren Merrill – Council Homes			
4.40 p.m. (10)	BREAK			
4.50 p.m. (10)	Chair's summing up			

Tuesday 23 January 2024 (7.05 p.m. - 7.35 p.m.)

Timetable	Members/officers
7.05 p.m. (30)	Cllr Helen Dennis – New Homes and Sustainable Development

OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

MUNICIPAL YEAR 23-24

AGENDA DISTRIBUTION LIST (OPEN)

NOTE: Original held by Scrutiny Team; all amendments/queries to Everton Roberts Tel: 020 7525 7221

Name	No of copies	Name	No of copies
Overview and Scrutiny Committee Members	oopioo	Officers	copioc
Paper copy		Joseph Brown – Cabinet Office Jack Beddoe – Cabinet Office	
Councillor Suzanne Abachor Councillor Victor Chamberlain Councillor Laura Johnson	1 1 1	Euan Cadzow-Webb – Liberal Democrat Group Office	
Electronic Versions (no hard copy)	Paper copy		
Councillor Sam Foster Councillor Jon Hartley Councillor Sunny Lambe Councillor Margy Newens Councillor Bethan Roberts Councillor Chloe Tomlinson Councillor Irina Von Wiese Councillor Ian Wingfield		Allan Wells, Legal Department Everton Roberts, Governance and Assurance (Spares)	1 10
Martin Brecknell Lynette Murphy-O'Dwyer Jonathan Clay Marcin Jagodzinski RESERVES			
Councillor John Batteson Councillor Rachel Bentley Councillor Sunil Chopra Councillor Sam Dalton Councillor Sam Foster Councillor Esme Hicks Councillor Sarah King Councillor Sandra Rhule Councillor Jane Salmon Councillor Andy Simmons Councillor Cleo Soanes		Total paper copies Dated: November 2023	14